My Upcoming Trip to Alaska

AlaskaI’ve recently decided that, to get away from all the quarantine and madness in the continental US, I would take a trip that I’ve always wanted to go on: Alaska. It was a great and viable socially-distanced trip option to consider, anyways. Luckily, I found two friends who agreed to go as well, and we are going to go in late July into August.

Here is my rough itinerary of places that I want to see, and things that I plan on doing, during my 15 (!!) day adventure:

Anchorage / Denali / Fairbanks – the first part of the trip will be spent seeing these three places via a 3-4 day car trip. We are going to fly into Anchorage and then drive north to Denali to see the great outdoors (and hopefully some moose and bears). From there, we will go even further north to Fairbanks to see the scenery along the way and hopefully more wildlife. Also, a must-do is to stop by Santa’s house in nearby North Pole, Alaska.

Kenai Peninsula – this will be the most active part of the trip and probably be the highlight. We will drive back down past Anchorage and into the Kenai Peninsula for 4-6 days. There, we plan on hiking, kayaking, bear spotting, white water rafting, and fishing. We will stay in two different towns, most likely Seward and Homer. The excitement is building.

Juneau and Southern Alaska – the last 4-6 days of the trip will be spent here, after flying in from Anchorage. We plan on taking boat trips in this area of Alaska and going island-hopping to numerous towns. Activities will include whale-spotting, eagle spotting, kayaking, glacier hiking, and regular hiking.

There’s no better time to take this trip, and I can’t wait. I may write about my adventures in progress, so stay tuned!

Leave a comment